Montreal: Another Pole for Pruett as Farnbacher Loles Leads GT

A track record for the Ganassi car leads to Pole position

MONTREAL, Quebec, Canada - Scott Pruett broke the Grand-Am Rolex Series track record early this afternoon at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve with a lap of 1:33.199 (104.641 mph) and will lead the field to the green flag of the Montreal 200, a 74-lap race with a two-hour time limit, which is set to fall at 4:21 this afternoon (SPEED, 8 p.m. ET).

It was the first pole position of the season for Pruett and the 11th of his career. He will look to join co-driver Memo Rojas in victory lane for the team's seventh victory in 10 Daytona Prototype races, as the duo share the No. 01 TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Lexus Riley Daytona Prototype.

Joining Pruett on the outside of the front row was Jon Fogarty, whose team repaired the No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing Pontiac Riley he co-drives with fellow Daytona Prototype co-champion Alex Gurney. Fogarty ran a lap of 1:33.707 (104.073 mph). The car sustained bodywork damage in a practice accident Thursday afternoon.

Brian Frisselle qualified third at 1:34.197 (103.531 mph) in the No. 61 AIM Autosport Ford Riley he co-drives with Canadian Mark Wilkins. He will be joined on the second row by another Canadian, Michael Valiante, who posted a time of 1:34.341 (103.373 mph) in the No. 10 SunTrust Pontiac Riley co-driven by Max Angelelli.

On the third row will be Bill Auberlen in the No. 23 Alex Job Racing Ruby Tuesday Porsche Riley (1:34.383; 103.109 mph) and Nic Jonsson in the No. 76 Krohn Racing Pontiac Lola (1:34.583; 103.109 mph).

Overall, the top nine drivers eclipsed Fogarty's year-old track record of 1:35.071 (102.580)

Farnbacher Loles Racing teammates Eric Lux and Bryce Miller both bettered the track record in sweeping the front row in GT qualifying. Lux won his first career pole with a lap of 1:42.362 (95.273 mph) in the No. 86 Porsche GT3 he co-drives with Leh Keen, while Miller ran 1:42.546 (95.102) in the No. 87 entry he shares with Dirk Werner.

Pole for the Farnbacher Loles team breaks the Pole run by SpeedSource

Andrew Davis qualified third in the No. 57 Stevenson Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R, 1:42.735 (94.927 mph). He will be joined on the second row by Nick Ham, who saw a two-race pole streak ended for the No. 70 SpeedSource Mazda RX-8, at 1:42.829 (94.840 mph).

Kelly Collins timed in fifth fastest in the No. 07 Banner Racing Pontiac GXP.R at 1:42.610 (95.043 mph). The former track record holder currently shares the GT points lead with co-driver Paul Edwards, leading Ham and Sylvain Tremblay by 14 points and Davis and Robin Liddell by 27.

Pos Class CPos Drivers Team Car Time
1 DP 1 S.Pruett, M.Rojas Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley 01:33.2
2 DP 2 J.Fogarty, A.Gurney Bob Stallings Racing Pontiac Riley 01:33.7
3 DP 3 Br.Frisselle, M.Wilkins AIM Autosport Ford Riley 01:33.9
4 DP 4 M.Angelelli, M.Valiante SunTrust Racing Pontiac Dallara 01:34.3
5 DP 5 B.Auberlen, J.Hand Alex Job Racing Porsche Riley 01:34.4
6 DP 6 N.Jonsson, R.Zonta Krohn Racing Pontiac Lola 01:34.6
7 DP 7 D.Donohue, D.Law Brumos Porsche Porsche Riley 01:34.7
8 DP 8 Bu.Frisselle R.Taylor Doran Racing Ford Dallara 01:34.8
9 DP 9 A.Gracia, T.Kimber-Smith Cheever Racing Pontiac Coyote 01:35.1
10 DP 10 B.Lester, S.Lewis Southard Motorsports Lexus Riley 01:35.6
11 DP 11 M-A.Camirand, G.Cosmo Spirit of Daytona Racing Porsche Coyote 01:35.6
12 DP 12 I.James, J.Pew Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley 01:36.2
13 DP 13 M.Plumb, G.Sigal Sigalsport Rum Bum Racing BMW Riley 01:36.4
14 DP 14 J.Barbosa, JC.France Brumos Porsche Porsche Riley 01:36.4
15 DP 15 O.Negri, M.Patterson Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley 01:36.9
16 DP 16 M.Goossens, J.Matthews Bob Stallings/Riley-Matthews Pontiac Riley 01:37.3
17 DP 17 M.Gidley, B.Jaeger Doran Racing Ford Dallara 01:37.9
18 DP 18 T.Krohn, O.Gavin Krohn Racing Pontiac Lola 01:39.4
19 GT 1 L.Keen, E.Lux Farnbacher Loles Motorsports Porsche GT3 Cup 01:42.4
20 GT 2 B.Miller, D.Werner Farnbacher Loles Motorsports Porsche GT3 Cup 01:42.5
21 GT 3 A.Davis, R.Liddell Stevenson Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R 01:42.7
22 GT 4 N.Ham, S.Tremblay SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 01:42.8
23 GT 5 K.Collins, P.Edwards Banner Racing Pontiac GXP.R 01:43.1
24 GT 6 T.Borcheller, T.Lewis Autohaus Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R 01:43.5
25 GT 7 E.Assentato, J.Segal SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 01:43.7
26 GT 8 D.Peterson, R.Smith Racers Edge Motorsports Mazda RX-8 01:44.2
27 GT 9 T.George, A.Lally TRG Porsche GT3 Cup 01:45.1
28 GT 10 D.Lacey, S.Johnson Farnbacher Loles Motorsports Porsche GT3 Cup 01:45.2
29 GT 11 R.Fellows, L.Reese, M.Bunting Banner Racing Pontiac GXP.R 01:45.2
30 GT 12 T.Ballou, S.Pumpelly TRG Porsche GT3 Cup 01:45.5
31 GT 13 Will, Wayne, Joe Nonnamaker Team Sahlen Corvette 01:45.7
32 GT 14 P.Dempsey, J.Foster Hyper Sport Mazda RX-8 01:46.3
33 GT 15 J-F.Dumoulin, T.Nastasi Blackforest Motorsports Mustang Cobra GT 01:46.8
34 GT 16 H.Maher, C.Stanton TRG Porsche GT3 Cup 01:47.3
35 GT 17 D.Empringham, J.Farano Blackforest Motorsports Mustang 01:48.4
36 GT 18 B.Sellers, RJ.Valentine TRG Porsche GT3 Cup 01:48.9
37 GT 19 D.Alessi, M.Connolly Matt Connolly Motorsports Pontiac GTO.R 01:50.1
38 GT 20 Will, Wayne, Joe Nonnamaker Team Sahlen Corvette 01:52.1