Bucharest: Phoenix Corvette Takes out Race 1

From pole to victory for Fassler and Deletraz

The first-ever one-hour race in the history of the FIA GT Championship was a close and exciting battle around the Bucharest streets. And the win, after a close battle with their team-mates, went to Swiss drivers Deletraz and Fässler in their Phoenix Carsport Corvette, who crossed the line0.6 seconds ahead of the nr 6 Corvette of Gollin and Hezemans.

Bartels and Bertolini, in the nr 1 Maserati MC 12, were pleased with third, achieved despite the 80 kg penalty weight they carried after Spa. Deletraz and Fässler, who led from pole, claimed a half allocation of points as well as the honour of starting tomorrow's Championship race from pole position, alongside their team-mates Gollin and Hezemans.

CR Scuderia emerged victorious in the GT2 category. Rob Bell took the lead at the start, ahead of pole-setter Bruni. After the driver-changeovers, Davies in the nr 62 Scuderia Ecosse Ferrari took the lead, and the numerous spectators were treated to an amazing three-way Ferrari battle, eventually won by the nr 56 CR Scuderia Ferrari 430 GT2. As well as five points, this gives Kirkaldy and Bell the leading GT2 position for tomorrow's race, alongside the nr 50 AF Corse Ferrari. The nr 61 Prospeed Porsche finished third.

After Spa’s high attrition rate, the race was largely accident-free. There were three non-starters, the nr 60 Prospeed Porsche which was damaged in qualifying and will start tomorrow’s race, and the two Jetalliance Aston Martin cars, which withdrew before the race for safety reasons due to technical problems discovered after qualifying.

The Gillet Vertigo is the only G2 runner this weekend but didn't quite make the finish

This race set the grid for tomorrow’s Championship race, which will start at 14:15 local time, and which will determine the winners of the Bucharest City Challenge 2008. If it is anything like today’s race, it will be a thriller !

Pos Class Drivers Car Time To 1st
1 GT1 Fassler/Deletraz Corvette Z06 1:00:48
2 GT1 Hezemans/Gollin Corvette Z06 1:00:49 0.613
3 GT1 Bertolini/Bartels Maserati MC 12 1:01:11 23.17
4 GT1 Negrao/Ramos Maserati MC 12 1:01:18 30.369
5 GT1 Bouchut/Maassen Corvette Z06 1:01:25 36.924
6 GT1 Kumpen/Longin Saleen S7 1:01:29 40.81
7 GT1 Simonsen/Peter Aston Martin DB9 1:01:32 43.593
8 GT1 Kox/Rusinov Lamborghini Murcielago 1:01:13 1 LAP
9 GT2 Bell/Kirkaldy Ferrari F430 1:01:30 1 LAP
10 GT2 Vilander/Bruni Ferrari F430 1:01:30 1 LAP
11 GT2 Westbrook/Collard Porsche 911 GT3 RS (997) 1:02:01 1 LAP
12 GT2 Malucelli/Ruberti Ferrari F430 1:00:51 2 LAPS
13 GT2 Montanari/Biagi Ferrari F430 1:00:53 2 LAPS
14 GT2 Niarchos/Mullen Ferrari F430 1:00:56 2 LAPS
15 GT2 Babini/Davies Ferrari F430 1:01:23 2 LAPS
16 GT2 Camathias/Rigon Ferrari F430 1:01:24 2 LAPS
17 GT2 Felbermayr Jr/Lieb Porsche 911 GT3 RS (997) 1:00:50 3 LAPS
18 GT2 Felbermayr/Lietz Porsche 911 GT3 RS (997) 1:01:07 3 LAPS
19 G2 Kuppens/Leinders Gillet Vertigo 1:01:50 4 LAPS
20 GT2 Perez Companc/Russo Ferrari F430 0:39:30 18 LAPS
21 GT2 Moser/Del Monte Ferrari F430 0:34:12 23 LAPS