Daytona Unveils 2011 Rolex 24 Artwork

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Internationally known artist Jay Koka has completed the commemorative artwork for the 49th running of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 29-30, America's most prestigious sports car race and the kick-off event to the international motorsports calendar.

Koka's Rolex 24 artwork depicts the 2010 Rolex 24 winning car - the No. 9 Action Express Racing Porsche Riley - and the runner-up entry of the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley in front of an iconic image of the challenging GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 endurance race - the 150-foot Ferris Wheel.

The artwork will serve as the cover for the Rolex 24 program and will be used on event posters and other promotional materials. In addition, 20 numbered and signed full-size reproductions, 34x44", giclee on artist-grade canvas and signed by the artist in the image and in the margin will be available for purchased by visiting or by calling 1-519-650-3908 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              1-519-650-3908      end_of_the_skype_highlighting .

"I consider it a great honor to have been asked to do this," Koka said. "It's a great opportunity for me, and it's a lot of fun. I like sports car racing, and the Rolex 24 At Daytona is a well known race that is instantly recognizable."

Koka created the cover for the 2010 Daytona 500 program. He has also been the featured and poster artist for many international events including the Cavallino Ferrari Classic of Palm Beach, Concours of the Eastern United States, both the Pebble Beach and Meadow Brook Concours as well as the Louisville Concours. He has been the featured artist eight times for the Ferrari Club of America International Meets and in 2008, he was commissioned to produce the featured art for the Barrett-Jackson Auction in Scottsdale, Arizona.

For 2011, Koka has been commissioned to produce the inaugural art for the new St. John's Concours of America in Michigan.

The No. 9 Action Express Racing Porsche Riley with drivers Joao Barbosa, Terry Borcheller, Ryan Dalziel and Mike Rockenfeller captured the 2010 Rolex 24 edging the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing entry.

The 755 laps turned by Action Express Racing on the 3.56-mile road course was the second most in the Rolex 24 and the margin of victory - 52.303 seconds - was the third closest finish in event history.

The Rolex 24 At Daytona attracts a star-studded driver lineup from all racing disciplines around the world. Drivers who competed in the 2010 edition of the Rolex 24 included NASCAR stars Jimmie Johnson and Juan Pablo Montoya, IndyCar stars Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon and sports car veterans Max Angelelli, Scott Pruett, David Donohue, Darren Law, Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney.

The event also produces a festival atmosphere with plenty of activities for fans to experience such as a massive GRAND-AM autograph session, wine and cheese tasting, Chili Cook-Off and the Daytona 5K & Fun Walk sponsored by Lane Construction.

Tickets for the Rolex 24 At Daytona along with the rest of Speedweeks 2011 events are available online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP